Ylon Schwartz final tabled 2014 World Series of Poker Circuit National Championship main event

Dominik Nitsche topped a field of 126 players to win the 2014 World Series of Poker Circuit National Championship main event, earning his second gold bracelet, the $352,800 first-place prize and 660 Card Player Player of the Year points.

The event featured a $1 million prize pool furnished by the WSOP for the 100 players who qualified for the event in addition to $260,000 more raised by 26 players who had earned the right to play the event after posting a $10,000 buy-in by winning their way into the top 100 on the WSOP POY point leaderboard.

Nitsche, who won his first gold bracelet in 2012, was won of the 26 who posted the $10,000 buy-in to play. The 23-year-old German pro is the first-ever non-American player to win the WSOPC National Championship and also the first WSOP POY qualified player. In fact, in the four year history of the event, no European had ever made the final table.

Nitsche topped a tough final table that featured a number of notable pros including former November Niner Ylon Schwartz (7th – $50,816), Matthew Ashton (3rd – $157,399) and eventual runner-up Athanasios Polychronopoulos (2nd – $218,056).

“It’s always nice to win a tournament, especially in a tough field like here. Athanasios is an amazing player and we played heads-up for quite some time. Beating him feels extra sweet because he is such a good player, even though we’re friends,” Nitsche told WSOP.com after play ended. “It’s always extra sweet if you beat someone who’s really strong.”

The event was held for the first time at Bally’s Atlantic City, meaning that Nitsche’s name will also go into the history books as the first player to win a bracelet in the state of New Jersey.

Here is a look at the payouts and POY points awarded at the final table:

Place Player Earnings (USD) POY Points
1 Dominik Nitsche $352,800 660
2 Athanasios Polychronopoulos $218,056 550
3 Matthew Ashton $157,399 440
4 Christopher Bibb $115,655 330
5 Tracy Doss $86,461 275
6 Andrew Robinson $65,734 220
7 Ylon Schwartz $50,816 165
8 Jeffrey Gunnip $39,917 110
9 Sean Lippel $31,865 55

House of Cards Radio Interview

Spokesman Casey "bigdogpckt5s" Jarzabek's Training Site

What is an outstanding status?

Outstanding status indicates that our system was unable to automatially grade the result. Please contact us for more information.